我们的10种不同类型的奶酪指南

纵观历史,以及世界上几乎所有文化,奶酪都有自己的特色。从独立小吃到烹饪补充,奶酪的胃口不会很快消退。

如今,超过95%的美国家庭购买了某种类型的奶酪 年销售额达到180亿美元对于一个有着7200岁历史的食物来说,这不错。

最早的奶酪制作证据可以追溯到古埃及,尽管大多数学者认为奶酪早于历史记录而没有确定的原产地。值得注意的是,随着时间的推移,奶酪制作的艺术仍然相当一致。当在牛奶中发现的蛋白质酪蛋白凝固成固体物质时,产生干酪凝乳。通过发酵,酪蛋白变成凝乳。这就是艺术的用武之地;然后,奶酪制造商能够改变口味和质地,以生产各种类型的奶酪 我们今天有。

酸化调节酸度水平。酶凝乳酶将乳状质地转化为干酪固体。切割凝乳和乳清以产生更硬的奶酪或几乎不能切割更柔软的奶酪。烹饪创造柔软而不是易碎的质地。添加盐以增强风味并保存最终产品,最终产品被压制成我们在商店中看到的形状。最后,通过老化过程,奶酪成熟为我们都喜爱的美味食物。

探索奶酪品种

世界各地的经典菜肴很大程度上归功于历史上不同类型的奶酪的多样性。这是我们列出的一些最流行的奶酪。

蓝乳酪

蓝色纹理的颜色和强烈的气味是模具加入奶酪的结果。

那些忽视蓝纹奶酪不同寻常品质的人将体验到奶油味浓郁的风味。世界各地的品种很多,蓝芝士可以碎成碎的沙拉或融化成美味的开胃菜。

  • 脂肪含量:28.74克/ 100克
  • 质地:奶油
  • 颜色:蓝色
  • 味道:咸,锋利,浓郁
  • 香气:臭,强烈

切达乳酪

这种巴氏杀菌牛奶奶酪起源于英国乡村,已成为当今世界上吃得最广泛的奶酪之一。随着奶酪的陈年,切达奶酪的风味,质地和香气属性不断发展。凭借其光滑的质地和更清爽的口感,切达干酪可以从砂锅补充或芝士汉堡顶部到立方派对小吃。

  • 脂肪含量:9克/ 100克
  • 质地:紧凑,易碎
  • 颜色:淡黄色
  • 味道:温和,乳脂状到尖锐
  • 香气:清淡至刺激

科尔比

这种柔软,湿润的威斯康星州奶酪是一种较温和的切达干酪。由于其风味较为浓郁,Colby通常用作实用的奶酪,搭配葡萄酒,三明治和沙拉。

  • 脂肪含量:32.11克/ 100克
  • 质地:坚固,开放,有弹性
  • 颜色:黄色
  • 味道:甜
  • 香气:温和,甜美

豪达

这款柔软的荷兰奶酪是欧洲奶酪板的主食,为品尝葡萄酒带来微妙的风味。高达还可以熏制和调味,并提供许多多种用途,作为传统奶酪菜肴的独特替代品。想想Gouda mac和奶酪。

  • 脂肪含量:31克/ 100克
  • 质地:紧凑,易碎,致密,有弹性
  • 颜色:乳霜或淡黄色
  • 味道:奶油,味道浓郁,坚果,甜
  • 香气:刺鼻

蒙特里杰克

这种美国奶酪起源于加利福尼亚州的蒙特雷,具有很高的水分含量,使其成为汤和酱汁的优质融化奶酪。蒙特利与Colby混合或加入墨西哥胡椒,也是开胃菜的完美奶酪和饼干。

  • 脂肪含量:30.28g / 100g
  • 质地:紧致,乳脂状,紧致,开口和柔软
  • 颜色:白色或奶油色
  • 味道:黄油,温和
  • 香气:芳香

奶酪

这种意大利南部奶酪最初由水牛奶制成,是一种柔软,温和的奶酪,是经典菜肴的主食,如千层面和传统的披萨,带有微妙的乳白色奶酪味。 Mozzarella是一种Pasta Filata奶酪,具有很好的融化特性,可以在味道和性能上与其他奶酪分开。

  • 脂肪含量:20克/ 100克
  • 质地:弹性,粘稠,柔软
  • 白颜色
  • 味道:乳白色
  • 香气:清新,乳白色

明斯特

这款柔软的美式奶酪以其德国水洗外皮为基础。它被德国移民带到美国,很快就被美国菜肴所采用。它具有出色的融化质量,使其成为烤奶酪配方的基础,也是汉堡配料的基础。它还很好地搭配餐桌奶酪,啤酒和葡萄酒。

  • 脂肪含量:30.04g / 100g
  • 质地:弹性,光滑,柔软
  • 颜色:淡黄色
  • 味道:温和,咸味,锋利
  • 香气:刺鼻

巴马

巴马 是一种坚硬,干燥的奶酪,起源于意大利的帕尔马地区。 Parmesan采用巴氏杀菌牛奶制成,陈酿至少10个月,口感浓郁,为凯撒沙拉增添了浓郁的坚果味,或者作为意大利面食的点睛之笔。

  • 脂肪含量:25.83克/ 100克
  • 质地:结晶,致密,有颗粒感
  • 颜色:稻草
  • 味道:果味,坚果,咸味,锋利
  • 香气:强烈

普罗卧干酪

这种半硬的意大利奶酪与莫扎里拉奶酪的味道相似。这也是意大利面Filata奶酪,因此当融化时,弹性的凝乳串变得异常丰富和美味。因此,普罗卧干酪增强了热panin和烤面食的味道。

  • 脂肪含量:26.62克/ 100克
  • 质地:坚固,颗粒感和开放
  • 颜色:淡黄色
  • 味道:黄油,温和,清爽,辛辣,甜,浓郁
  • 香气:愉快

瑞士人

不,瑞士奶酪不是来自瑞士。这种美国奶酪具有独特的多孔外观(称为眼睛),是老化过程中形成的二氧化碳气泡的结果。眼睛越大,味道越浓。瑞士是水果和熟食肉类的完美搭档。

  • 脂肪含量:7.8克/ 100克
  • 质地:坚定
  • 颜色:淡黄色
  • 味道:坚果,甜
  • 香气:辛辣

以新的方向呈现奶酪味

当然,奶酪风味的味道仍然存在。作为食品生产商,寻找创新方法将强大的奶酪风味引入包装食品应用中需要掌握乳制品成分。

DairiConcepts提供奶酪风味的专业知识,定制风味特征,带来独特的口味体验,同时保持产品清洁标签。他们在奶酪产品中的标识为多种食品类别带来了真正的风味,同时他们的浓缩奶酪酱, AMPLIFI,使任何产品增加奶酪风味,而无需增加成本。询问他们的 乳制品口味, 粉末调味料,可根据您的需求定制配方。可能性始于您的产品愿景。

与DairiConcepts合作,探索各种可以丰富您产品的奶酪配方。现在是时候拨打电话了 忠诚的伙伴.

DairiConcepts已成为需要定制配料解决方案的食品制造商的创新合作伙伴。 DairiConcepts不仅仅是帮助食品生产商实现其乳制品风味目标,而是创造出更好的口味,奶油质地和干净的标签食品。他们在提供具有所需风味的产品的同时,还能满足消费者不断变化的口味。 订购样品 体验DairiConcepts的不同之处。

Our Guide to 10 Different Types of Cheeses

Throughout history, and in pretty much every culture in the world, cheese holds its own. From stand-alone snack to culinary complement, the appetite for cheese isn’t waning anytime soon.

Today, more than 95 percent of American households purchase some type of cheese with annual sales reaching $18 billion.​ Not bad for a food that has a 7,200-year-old past.

The earliest evidence of cheesemaking dates back to ancient Egypt, though most scholars believe that cheese predates recorded history without a definitive place of origin. Remarkably, the art of cheesemaking has remained fairly consistent over time. Cheese curd is produced when the protein casein, found in milk, coagulates into a solid mass. Through fermentation, casein becomes curd. This is where the art comes in; cheesemakers are then able to modify taste and texture to produce the diverse types of cheese we have today.

Acidification modulates the acidity levels. The enzyme rennet transforms milkier textures into cheesy solids. Curds and whey are cut to create harder cheeses or barely cut for softer cheeses. Cooking creates tender rather than crumbly textures. Salt is added to enhance flavor and preserve the final product, which is pressed into the shapes we see in the store. Finally, through the aging process, cheese matures into the flavorful food we all love.

Exploring Cheese Variety

Classic dishes around the world owe much to the diversity of different types of cheeses created throughout history. Here ’s our list of a few of the most popular cheeses on the spectrum.

Blue Cheese

The trademark blue-veined color and strong odor is the result of mold being added to cheese.

Those who overlook blue cheese’s unusual qualities will experience a creamy, robust flavor profile. Made in many varieties all over the world, blue cheese can be crumbled into chopped salads or melted into savory appetizers.

  • Fat content: 28.74g/100g
  • Texture: creamy
  • Color: blue
  • Flavor: salty, sharp, tangy
  • Aroma: stinky, strong

Cheddar

Originating in the English countryside, this pasteurized cow’s milk cheese has become one of the most widely eaten cheeses in the world today. The flavor, texture, and aroma attributes of Cheddar continues to develop as the cheese is aged. With its smooth texture and sharper taste, cheddar can go from casserole complement or cheeseburger topper to cubed party snacks.

  • Fat content: 9 g/100g
  • Texture: compact and crumbly
  • Color: pale yellow
  • Flavor: mild and creamy to sharp
  • Aroma: light to pungent

Colby

This soft, moist Wisconsin cheese is a milder version of cheddar. Because of its subtler flavor profile, Colby is commonly used as a practical table cheese, paired with wine, sandwiches, and salads.

  • Fat Content: 32.11g/100g
  • Texture: firm, open and springy
  • Color: yellow
  • Flavor: sweet
  • Aroma: mild, sweet

Gouda

This soft Dutch cheese is a staple of European cheese boards and brings subtle flavor notes to wine-tasting. Gouda can also be smoked and flavored and offers many versatile applications as a unique substitute in traditional cheese dishes. Think Gouda mac and cheese.

  • Fat content: 31 g/100g
  • Texture: compact, crumbly, dense and springy
  • Color: Cream or light yellow
  • Flavor: creamy, full-flavored, nutty, sweet
  • Aroma: pungent

Monterey Jack

This American cheese originated in Monterey, California has a high moisture content making it an excellent melting cheese for soups and sauces. Marbled with Colby or enhanced with jalapenos, Monterey is also the perfect cheese-and-cracker choice for appetizers.

  • Fat content: 30.28g/100g
  • Texture: compact, creamy, firm, open and supple
  • Color: White or cream colored
  • Flavor: buttery, mild
  • Aroma: aromatic

Mozzarella

This southern Italian cheese, originally made from buffalo’s milk, is a soft, mild cheese that is a staple for classic dishes such as lasagna and traditional pizza with a subtle milky cheese flavor. Mozzarella is a Pasta Filata cheese which gives it great melting characteristics and allows it to stand apart from other cheeses in both flavor and performance.

  • Fat content: 20 g/100g
  • Texture: springy, stringy and supple
  • Color: white
  • Flavor: milky
  • Aroma: fresh, milky

Muenster

This soft American cheese is based on its German washed-rind cousin. Brought to the U.S. by German immigrants, it quickly became adopted into American cuisine. It’s excellent melting quality has made it the foundation for grilled cheese recipes as well as a topping for burgers. It also pairs nicely as a table cheese with beer and wine.

  • Fat Content: 30.04g/100g
  • Texture: elastic, smooth and supple
  • Color: pale yellow
  • Flavor: mild, savory, sharp
  • Aroma: pungent

Parmesan

Parmesan is a hard, dry cheese that originated in the Parma region of Italy. Made from pasteurized milk, and aged for a minimum of 10 months, Parmesan offers a strong flavor that adds robust nutty notes to Caesar salads or as the finishing touch to pasta dishes.

  • Fat content: 25.83 g/100g
  • Texture: crystalline, dense and grainy
  • Color: straw
  • Flavor: fruity, nutty, savory, sharp
  • Aroma: strong

Provolone

This semi-hard Italian cheese has similarities in taste to Mozzarella. This is also a Pasta Filata cheese, so elastic strings of curd become exceptionally rich and tasty when melted. For this reason, Provolone intensifies the flavor of hot paninis and baked pasta dishes.

  • Fat Content: 26.62g/100g
  • Texture: firm, grainy and open
  • Color: pale yellow
  • Flavor: buttery, mild, sharp, spicy, sweet, tangy
  • Aroma: pleasant

Swiss

No, Swiss cheese is not from Switzerland. This American cheese with its distinctive holey appearance (known as eyes) is a result of carbon dioxide bubbles that form during the aging process. The bigger the eyes, the stronger the flavor. Swiss is the perfect partner for fruit and deli meats.

  • Fat content: 7.8 g/100g
  • Texture: firm
  • Color: pale yellow
  • Flavor: nutty, sweet
  • Aroma: Pungent

Taking Cheese Flavor in New Directions

Certainly, the taste for cheese flavor is here to stay. As a food producer, finding innovative ways to introduce robust cheese flavor into packaged food applications requires the mastery of a dairy ingredient developer.

DairiConcepts offers expertise across the cheese flavor spectrum, customizing flavor profiles for unique taste experiences, all while keeping products clean label. Their standard of identity in cheese offerings brings authentic flavor to multiple food categories, while their concentrated cheese paste, AMPLIFI, gives any product a boost of cheese flavor without the added cost. Ask about their dairy type flavors, powders and seasonings, which are ready for customized formulation to fit your needs. The possibilities begin with your product vision.

Team up with DairiConcepts and explore the vast range of cheese note formulations that can enrich your products. It’s time to dial up the power of cheese with a committed partner.

DairiConcepts has become the innovative partner for food manufacturers that need customized ingredient solutions. Doing more than just helping food producers achieve their dairy flavor goals, DairiConcepts is creating better flavors, creamier textures, and clean label foods. They’re delivering a product with the desired flavor in mind while keeping up with consumer’s evolving tastes. Order a sample to experience the DairiConcepts difference.